What You Need to Know About President Trump’s Ban on Immigrants/Non-immigrants from 7 Countries & Suspension of U.S Refugee Program


U.S. President Donald Trump signs executive orders in the Hall of Heroes at the Department of Defense in Arlington, Virginia, U.S. on Friday, Jan. 27, 2017. Trump signed an executive action
on Friday to establish new vetting procedures for some people seeking to enter the U.S., saying the measure would prevent terrorists from being admitted into the country.
U.S President, Donald Trump‘s Executive Order signed on Friday is sending shockwaves round the globe, as the businessman turned politician banned citizens from seven countries, including three from Africa, from entering the U.S for the next 90 days. The policy also affects Green Card holders.
Trump also banned refugees from entering the U.S for 120 days, during which the U.S. Secretary of State will review the application and screening process for refugees to be admitted to the U.S.

Highlights of the Executive Order

The executive order banned citizens of seven countries, including three from Africa – Sudan, Libya, and Somalia – from entering the U.S for at least the next 90 days. The order countries are Iraq, Syria, Iran, and Yemen. This amounts to at least 134 million people, based on 2013 World Bank census data. Those countries were named in a 2016 law concerning immigration visas as “countries of concern.”
The policy also says that citizens of those countries who have U.S. resident’s permit are included in the ban.
But the executive order also makes clear those seven countries are just a starting point for a likely broader ban.
The order exempts diplomats and members of international organizations from the ban.
The order also directs the secretary of Homeland Security to conduct a 30-day review to determine which countries do not provide “adequate information” for its citizens to be issued visas to enter the US.
The Order also says no more refugees will be allowed in the U.S. for the next 120 days. Very few exceptions will be allowed on a one-to-one basis. Over 100,000 refugees entered the U.S. last year. When the program restarts, the number has been capped at 50,000.
During the 120 days ban, the U.S. Secretary of State will review the application and screening process for refugees to be admitted to the U.S.
Trump also states in the order that refugees should be prioritized for entry on the basis of religious persecution, “provided that the religion of the individual is a minority religion.” That would open the door for Christian refugees from Muslim-majority countries to be accepted in the U.S. while Muslims fleeing those countries would be excluded.
In the Order, Trump banned refugees from Syria. “I hereby proclaim that the entry of nationals of Syria as refugees is detrimental to the interests of the United States and thus suspend any such entry,” Trump said.
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

BellaNaija Weddings presents #AsoEbiBella – Vol. 178 – The Latest Aso Ebi Styles

BN Bridal: BERTA Bridal Fall 2017 Collection

Weddings presents #AsoEbiBella – Vol. 168 – The Latest Aso Ebi Styles